Different Stories, Different Tastes=It’s All Good

Something I read has me thinking. I followed a link about SFR (science fiction romance) and landed on a blog post about romance writers who throw the science out in SFR. The post didn’t get my back up—just made me think. Mostly because I recently got a review about Kithra that said the very thing that bothered her. 😉

Truth is, I knew going into publishing The Kithran Regenesis series that true SF fans wouldn’t enjoy these books. They are written more for romance readers who enjoy a fun, futuristic setting. I wanted to write these as relationship-driven stories but I also love the idea of different worlds and races.So yes, they are more space opera than science fiction–thing is, most publishers and a LOT of readers think spaceship=science fiction. We don’t always have the option of another descriptive tag.

I love both. Was addicted to Firefly, Farscape and OMG, was my addiction to Star Trek, The Next Generation a little crazy. I didn’t discover the show until it was on as reruns. Used to race home (An hour drive that took me 40 minutes) so I could catch the show every night at six. I loved the science as much as I did the worlds. But honestly, it was the lack of discrimination in the show that appealed to me the most. I dream of a more secular future where people hold their personal beliefs dear, but don’t push them onto others. I grew up in an area filled with a lot of religious intolerance and bigotry. This is a hot button for me.

So, I wanted to write some sexy romance-based stories and I wanted to set them somewhere futuristic. To be honest, I wasn’t sure these would get many fans because they are also menage novellas. I’m hitting one niche after another, eh? But I wrote them the way they needed to be written and I can always hope there will be a reader or two (okay, okay, hopefully more) who will enjoy them.

That said, I do LOVE a good SFR filled with science. My favorite is Primary Inversion by Catherine Asaro. Loved that book so much it started falling apart from reads. But, I can also enjoy a sexy story with the focus on the characters instead of the science too. Depends on my mood.

Thing is… there’s a big, beautiful world of publishing out there that caters to many, many tastes. This is good. Can you imagine how boring the world would be if everyone liked the same thing?

Leave a Reply

